Friday, December 5, 2008

Congratulations to our AMC8 contestants

Twenty-seven students from area middle schools and a local homeschool MATHCOUNTS team took part in the Albany Area Math Circle's administration of the AMC8 Contest on November 18. The official results are now in.

Our top three students, who constitute the official Albany Area Math Circle team are: Preston Law from Home Educators Enrichment Group (heeg), with a score of 23, and Zubin Mukerjee of Farnsworth Middle School and Aniket Tolpadi of Iroquois Middle School, who both scored 22. All three students also achieved national recognition on the Honor Roll of Distinction.

Six additional students with scores of 19 to 21 will receive national honors on the AMC Honor Roll: Greg Hickey of Shaker Junior High, Cecilia Holodak of Van Antwerp Middle School, Elizabeth Parizh of Iroquois, Martin Schreiner of Van Antwerp, Flora Mao of Iroquois, and Jien Ogawa of heeg.

Seven students will receive national recognition on the Merit Roll for high-scoring students in sixth grade or below: Martin Schreiner (Van Antwerp), Gili Rusak (Loudonville Elementary), Samir Menon (Iroquois), Isaac Smith (heeg), Kumar Muthukumar (Iroquois), Abigail Trouwborst (heeg), and Philip White (heeg.)

No comments: